A top talent line-up is scheduled to present honors at the 2017 Writers Guild Awards  to be hosted today, at The Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills.
In addition to this year’s host – Emmy-winning actor-writer-comedian Patton Oswalt (Talking for Clapping, Veep), who just won a Grammy Award for Best Comedy Album (Talking for Clapping) at Sunday night’s Grammys – the WGA L.A. awards ceremony presenters are slated to include: Emmy-nominated actress Kerry Washington (Scandal, Confirmation), who will present the WGAW’s Paul Selvin Award to Oscar and WGA-nominated screenwriter Susannah Grant (Erin Brockovich) for the HBO telefilm Confirmation; Emmy-nominated Better Call Saul star Bob Odenkirk; Emmy-nominated and SAG Award-winning Shameless star William H. Macy – (see video of  William H.Macy – lead actor on “Shameless” , and Felicity Huffman – lead actress on “American Crime” ; at The 67th Primetime EMMY AWARDS @ The Microsoft Theater.); Chelsea talk show host/comedian Chelsea Handler; Emmy-nominated and WGA-winning Portlandia / Documentary Now! co-creator/star Fred Armisen; The Goldbergs co-star Wendi McClendon-Covey (Bridesmaids); two-time Emmy-winningVeep co-star Tony Hale; Critics Choice TV Award-nominated Fresh Off the Boat co-star Randall Park; The Big Bang Theory and Speechless co-star John Ross Bowie; Silicon Valley co-star Kumail Nanjiani; actress Michaela Watkins (Transparent, Casual); Playing House co-creators & co-stars Lennon Parham (Veep, Lady Dynamite) & Jessica St. Clair (Veep, The McCarthys) and; iconic TV comedy writer-producer Norman Lear (One Day at a Time, All in the Family), actor David Koechner (The Goldbergs, Superior Donuts), and comedian/actor Bill Burr (Walk Your Way Out, Breaking Bad).
In addition, Oscar-nominated actor James Woods (Salvador, Nixon) will present the WGAW’s Laurel Award for Screenwriting Achievement to Academy Award and WGA-winning screenwriter-directorOliver Stone (Platoon, Born on the Fourth of July, JFK); Emmy-winning The Newsroom star Jeff Daniels will present the WGAW’s Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television Writing Achievement to Oscar and WGA-winning The Social Network screenwriter and The West Wing / The NewsroomCreator Aaron Sorkin; actor Jeff Goldblum (Independence Day: Resurgence, Jurassic Park) will present the WGAW’s Valentine Davies Award to acclaimed screenwriter-director Richard Curtis (Love Actually, Four Weddings and a Funeral, Bridget Jones’s Diary) for his humanitarian service and charitable efforts around the globe; Emmy-winning and Oscar-nominated actress Shohreh Aghdashloo (Star Trek Beyond, The Expanse) will present the Guild’s Jean Renoir Award for International Screenwriting Achievement to late Iranian filmmaker Abbas Kiarostami (Taste of Cherry, The Wind Will Carry Us, Certified Copy), and writer Howard Michael Gould (Instant Mom) will present the WGAW’s Morgan Cox Award to Emmy-nominated M*A*S*H writer and past WGAW Board of Directors member Dan Wilcox for his Guild service – with additional talent / presenters to be announced.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here