27th LA Shorts International Film Festival at the Regal Cinemas in LA Live- BIG SUCCESS!

27th LA Shorts International Film Festival at the Regal Cinemas in LA Live- BIG SUCCESS!
What Ever Happened To Jonny Faith premiered at LA Shorts International Film Festival on Thursday, July 20 at 1pm at the Regal Cinema LA LIVE.
What Ever Happened To Jonny Faith, a short film about a once-famous country singer who disappeared at the height of his career 30 years ago, leaving his fans and the music industry wondering what happened to him. TRAILER: Faith Trailer on Vimeo
The film follows Jonny Faith’s journey to make amends with his estranged son before it’s too late. Through stunning visuals and an original soundtrack from Frank NoonBrian Greenwood and Rusty Anderson, this beautifully crafted film follows Faith’s journey to seek love, forgiveness, and redemption. 

Directed by award-winning filmmaker and AFI alumni Benjamin Pollack (“Sexart,” Out of Malibu, Hopeful Romantic) and featuring stunning performances from an all-star cast Frank Noon (former British drummer of Def Leppard and Roadhouse, “Weeds,”), Wayne Knight (“Seinfeld,” Jurassic Park), Bruce Greenwood (Star Trek, Thirteen DaysI, Robot), Debbie Pollack (Sixteen Candles, “Dirty John”), Michael Patrick McGill (Annabelle Comes HomeDark Skies), Alexandra Wright (“This Is Us,” “Chicago P.D.,” “Grace and Frankie”), Gary Nohealii (“Criminal Minds,” The Forever Purge, “Hawaii Five-O”), Jeanette O’Connor (“Baskets,” “Ray Donovan”), Fritz Coleman (Glimmer ManOn The Fritz), Margo Parker (“If Walls Could Talk,”  “Deadly Girls Night Out”), Rusty Anderson (lead guitarist for Paul McCartney’s touring band).  Don’t miss out on this heartwarming story and an unforgettable cinematic experience and be among the first to see What Ever Happened To Jonny Faith on the big screen.


LA Shorts Oscar-Qualifying Film Festival Wraps With Awards Ceremony: Garin Hovannisian’s NOWHERE Wins Top Prize, Three Other Films Also Qualify

Los Angeles-based filmmaker Garin Hovannisian is among a select group of filmmakers to punch their ticket for the Oscar race, after scoring a big win at the LA Shorts Film Festival. Other Oscar qualifying winners are It Takes a Village Best International Film (Armenia) Director: Ophelia HanutyunyanThe Brave Locomotive Best Animation Director: Andrew Pierce Chesworth, and The Noble Guardian Best Documentary Director: Anna Coren.

Hovannisian’s 11-minute film Nowhere won the Best of Fest at the festival’s awards ceremony on Sunday evening.  Set in the city called Nowhere, shadows dream of a life without their human masters. 

Los Angeles-based Immaculate Heart Community (see above photo from the red carpet arrivals) bestowed five (5) individual, $1,000 cash prizes onto participating filmmakers whose representative work (respectively) demonstrates enlightenment, inclusivity, and independent spirit. Recipients include Jasmine BisseteChloe CamposLorena E. GonzalezMelika Jamshidabadi, and Tanxuan Shi.

Scroll for full list of winners.

The festival is accredited by the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts & Sciences OSCAR®, the British Academy of Film and Television Arts BAFTA, and the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television ACCT Canadian Screen Awards and The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences of Spain GOYA  AWARDS. 66 LA Shorts filmmakers have earned Academy Award® nominations, with 17 taking home the Oscar.

LA Shorts is the longest-running short film festival in Los Angeles. The festival screens over 350 films and attracts 10,000 attendees each year including Hollywood industry professionals and emerging undiscovered independent filmmakers.

Best of Fest: 

Nowhere – Director: Garin Hovannisian

Best International

It Takes a Village…  (Armenia)  Director: Ophelia Harutyunyan

Best Drama

The Kill Floor – Director: Carlos Avila​

Best Comedy

The Avon Lady – Director: Carolina Espiro

Best Animation

The Brave Locomotive – Director: Andrew Pierce Chesworth

Best Experimental

Red Man – Director/Writer: Xinhao Lu

Best Documentary

The Noble Guardian  Director Anna Coren

Best Sci-Fi

Dream Maker (Turkey) – Director: Mohsen Mehri Darouei, Milad Kiaei

Best Horror

Get Away – Director: Michael Gabriele

Best Music Video

Pronto – Light Light (Switzerland) Director Maximilian Speidel

Best Web Series

Space Rats (Australia) – Director Darwin Schulze, Basil Scott-Mitchell

Best High School Film

Sharing the Floor – Director/Writer Lily Brooks O’ Briant

Best Actor

Dusan Brown (“All In”)

Best Actress

Janessa St. Pierre (“Hair or No Hair”)

Best Script

Jimmy Prosser (“Korean Shooter”)

Immaculate Heart Community Cash Prizes:


Director: Melika Jamshidabadi


Director: Chloe Campos


Director: Lorena E. Gonzalez


Director: Jasmine Bissete


Director: Tanxuan Shi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here